Chopsticks and kung fu kicks!

Leaving on a jet plane …

Kimchi … breakfast, lunch and dinner! February 27, 2009

Filed under: South Korea — esacc @ 10:57 AM

I have officially settled down in my new apartment in Haeundae, Busan. This area of Busan is more modern and more westernized than other parts and is considered the Beverly Hills of Busan. It has the nicest beach in Busan and maybe even South Korea!

My apartment is pretty little but very cute and modern. Today was an interesting day! I experienced my first REAL Korean meal – shoes off, cross legged lunch, with community bowls in which every one shares the food on the table. From there, I met my co-teacher who is extremely nice and speaks great English. She took me grocery shopping and took me on a little tour of the city and showed me my walk to and from the school. I visited the school and saw the classroom that I will be teaching in. I am teaching grades 3, 4, 5 and 6! It should be fun! We even discussed the possibility of me working with the after school program, and sports program!

The drive to Busan was beautiful. The mountains were amazing. The pictures do not do it justice!

 

8 Responses to “Kimchi … breakfast, lunch and dinner!”

  1. Dave & Gen Says:

    hello,
    We were glad to hear from you. We were getting very anxious to hear from you but realised that you needed time to settle in. It’s very good to hear everything is OK and we are very curious about all your experiences so keep blogging and we’ll be checking in!

  2. Lisa Brown Says:

    Hi Erin

    I am so happy to hear that you arrived safely and are already enjoying teaching. Your city sounds wonderful. The first few weeks are amazing as everything is new and exciting. The best part is, that feeling never goes away. Keep me posted on your adventures. We miss you!

    Lisa and Team

  3. Elly Bradley Says:

    hi there Chiquita!! The pictures are stunning. I am so glad you arrived safely and are enjoying it so far. If you get a chance to visit SIngapore let me know and I will connect you with my friend Andrea.

  4. Kelly Murray Says:

    Hi Erin

    So good to hear from you and amazed at how quickly you’ve settled in!

    Enjoy every second of this amazing opportunity!
    P.S. Can you email Liana & I your number incase we need to ask work questions:)

  5. Kelly Murray Says:

    Hi Erin

    So good to hear from you and I’m amazed how quickly you’ve settled in!

    Enjoy every second of your amazing journey.
    P.S. Can you email Liana & I a contact number incase we have a work question:)

  6. Kelly Murray Says:

    Hi Erin

    So good to hear from you and I’m amazed how quickly you have settled in!

    Enjoy every second of this amazing opporunity and keep the pictures updated.
    P.S. Can you email Liana & I a contact number incase we need to talk shop:)

  7. Rebecca Says:

    Love hearing your updates!! Your apartment looks great – looks like your settling in quite nicely! Love that you live in the Beverly Hills of Korea! 😉 Yeah girl!! hahaha…
    When do you get to meet your kids and start teaching? They will absolutely love you! I wrote on your FB that I will write an update email soon. xoxox Talk soon.

  8. Grace Says:

    Hi Erin,

    I found your blog doing a google search… I’m in a little town near Changnyeong-gun– jealous of your cute and modern digs and the fact that you’re so close to a major city, but I can’t complain– I really like where I’m at right now too! You must tell me where you got your blinds– I’m looking for something of the sort when I can make it to Daegu or Changwon!

    Best,
    Grace


Leave a Reply

