Chopsticks and kung fu kicks!

Leaving on a jet plane …

Paradise. March 9, 2009

Filed under: South Korea — esacc @ 6:13 AM

I feel like I am sitting on cloud 9 at the moment. I have only been in my city for a little over a week and I am falling in love with it more and more each day! It’s amazing what being in another country, by yourself, can really do to you. There are so many things I would have never done that I can now say I have done and enjoyed! For instance, Saturday I mastered the subway system – by myself – got lost in the market – walked in circles – but eventually found my way home. And today … I ate raw fish for the first time and it actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. The texture was a bit overwhelming at first, but after awhile, I got used to it. I’m not sure it would be the dish that I’d order at any restaurant, but I wouldn’t decline a dinner invitation if raw fish was on the menu. At least now I know what to expect πŸ™‚

Today was the most incredible day. Prior to dinner my co-teacher took me on a little tour of a couple of the beaches close to my apartment …. she took me on a road through the mountains that overlooked the ocean and I can honestly say I was unable to speak. It was the most amazing view I had ever seen. And unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me, but I don’t even think the pictures would have captured the true serenity of the moment. It was breathtaking. I will be going back to those places in the near future …Β  I didn’t want to leave! And next time I will have my camera!

After dinner, my co-teacher and 4 other teachers and I went down to the lighthouse and walked along the pier just as the sun was setting being the mountains and the full moon was out. The way the moon sparkled on the water was paralizing. Koreans are incredibly warm and caring people; I felt like I was walking along paradise with 5 of my best girlfriends – even though I have only known them for a few days – and I don’t understand a word they say – it was an extremely peaceful moment. (No offence to my lady friends at home … you are in no way being replaced!) It was unbelieveable. By the time I got back to my apartment my heart felt like it was going to leap from my chest and I just knew I needed to come blog about what I had experienced.

This has already been a life changing experience for me. I enjoy watching and respecting the Korean culture. The way they hold on to and practice their traditions is so symbolic and touching. The respect for elders, and something as simple as you do not pour your own drink – but you pour others and they will in turn pour yours to me seems so respectful and unselfish. Speaking of which – I found out the difficult way that if you do not want more to drink, you do not empty your glass – because as soon as a Korean sees an empty glass, you can be sure it will be filled again! (And I am talking shot glasses here people.) haha I am so glad that I get to be a part of this culture and that I have been accepted and complemented for how quickly I have caught onto the traditions and that they appreciate the respect I show their culture. It’s truly incredible.

Lisa Brown – you were so right – when you travel with locals you taste and smell and see things like never before!

I do miss all of you, of course, and there is no place like home, but I am truly smitten with my new temporary home. Everything seems so perfect.

Next time – I promise to include pictures πŸ™‚

P.S. This wednesday the teachers and I are playing volleyball … I’m sure some funny stories will come from that πŸ™‚

xoxoxo

 

7 Responses to “Paradise.”

  1. Alyssa Says:

    you should be a writer. seriously though!

    thats all!

  2. Dave & Gen Says:

    Wow!
    It sounds just amazing!!!! You have a way of describing things so vividly that we almost feel we are there with you. As for that “community spa” what’s with the bathing suit… remember when in Rome!?haha
    Keep having fun and please keep on blogging.

  3. erinsacco Says:

    haha great comments! You are so true uncle dave and aunt genny – when in rome!! hahaha We’ll see if I get brave πŸ™‚ No pictures will be posted with that post! haha

    xoxo

  4. Sarah Says:

    I’m so excited for you Erin – it all sounds like a dream. It must be hard trying to capture so much emotion and experience in just a few paragraphs!
    Haha, “when in Rome” is right!!! Eat those words and gear down hahah πŸ˜‰
    Miss ya!

  5. KY Says:

    sounds like you’re having a solid time sacco!

  6. Rebecca Says:

    Erin you sound so great!! πŸ™‚ You definitely have a way of describing your surroundings! Your blogs make me smile – so glad you are enjoying your temporary home and the people are so great – really makes the experience! Miss you around here for sure but glad you are having an amazing time! xoxo Lots of love.

  7. Amy Says:

    Hi Erin,

    I tried blogging you a couple of weeks ago but I don’t see my comments on here!! I’m so glad that you’re having the adventure of a lifetime! Just be sure to bring back one of those traditions with you when you come home….respecting your elders!!! aka ME!!!!!! I love you and miss you lots!!

    Amy


Leave a Reply

