Chopsticks and kung fu kicks!

Leaving on a jet plane …

Machalee and Noreabong! March 22, 2009

Filed under: South Korea — esacc @ 9:57 AM

Machalee is Korea’s famous rice wine … it’s like a mini brain ninja. It really gets in there and grabs hold of your noggin! But it is really really delicious.

Noreabong is Korean karaoke. It’s AMAZING! It’s the classiest Karaoke bar I’ve ever seen. You rent private rooms with big comfy couches and sing your soul out. There are even tambourines to be used and binders full of endless song choices. (Yes, English songs included).

So now that you are familiar with some Korean terminology, I can explain the last few nights that I experienced of Korean life.

My week started off pretty well. Two of my students showed me a short cut home from school and after a bit of confusion/a language barrier, they were in my apartment playing cards and showing my magic tricks. They were too cute. They will full of questions and were just so excited to be hanging out with me! haha

Thursday night some foreign teacher and I tried to go bowling but that didn’t work out so well in our favor. We had a rather large group and the alley was rather small and busy so we didn’t end up getting to play. Instead we watched some hardcore bowlers for about 40 minutes and then called it a night. hahaha Kind of lame, but always a good time!

Friday night was an epic night …. one of the best so far! The teachers from my school and I went out for dinner after school. We went to this squid restaurant where you grill your own squid on a flame at your table. I was a bit skeptical at first, but like ALL Korean dishes, once I had a bite I was hooked! It was really really delicious. There were some spicier dishes that I was told to try – so in an attempt to not disappoint, I tried them all out and again, was left completely satisfied. Along with the dinner dishes I was introduced to Machalee – to which we consumed about 10 bottles. Needless to say, we were all feeling pretty good by the time dinner was over! haha After dinner we ventured on over to a Noreabong. This was my first Noreabong experience and it was a tale to tell! You rent out a private room that has a huge table and big comfy booth like couches … with tambourines and endless song choices. It was the best and sooooo funny. I was a bit nervous at first, but the teachers were great sports so it was easy breezy! hahaha I loved it! After about an hour in the Noreabong we headed over to another bar for a couple more drinks and conversation. Koreans certainly love to drink! The decor in the bar was all colorful bottles of all different sorts. It was such a cool atmosphere to be in, especially with such a kind group of people!

The night ended around 11 or 11:30 PM but I was HURTING the next day. hahaha A combination of spicy squid and Macahlee and beer …. ugh. But it was definitely worth it.

Saturday I went over to my co-teachers (So-huyn) house again for lunch where I was introduced to what I call the Korean Mr. Noodles. It’s the same concept of Mr Noodles but with some spicier Korean tasting seasoning … and So-Huyn added an egg and some onions to the dish as well. After lunch So-Huyn’s sister came over and showed me how to make Korean Pizza – aka Kimchi Pizza. I needed a dish to bring to the foreigner put luck, and I wanted to learn how to make the pizza … so it was a fun experience! And my pizza was a HIT! (It’s not really pizza … it’s kind of hard to explain, and if I were to tell you the ingredients, you’d probably be a little turned off, but here goes: kimchi – lots of it! – leeks, green onions, squid, mussels, flour, water, and milk) … you mix everything together and then cook it like a pancake in a frying pan. It is really really good!

Saturday night was the pot luck. Every one did an excellent job of making dishes. The food was really good! We had curry and meat balls and chili and salads – all sorts of different dishes! I was still hurting from Friday night, as were a few others, so we called it an early night. I was definitely excited to wake up this morning hangover free 🙂

SO, not sure if I mentioned it – but I am running in a 5 KM Marathon here in Busan on April 19th for Cancer. So I have started training for the big day! haha I have always wanted to get into running and at least this gives me something to work towards. And, lets face it, it’s not every day someone can say they ran a marathon in South Korea! I think they have them on a Monthly basis so depending on how this one goes, it may become a monthly occurrence for me. It’s a great way to see the city as well, and the added bonus that beach season is right around the corner, it’s a good way to get in shape for it! hahaha

Today I went to the Haeundae market with Maria and her friend Leah. We did some browsing … I bought some bamboo blinds for my apartment whcih were ridiculously cheap, but when I got them home I realized I have no tools to hang them with! haha So … I may have to get creative. I will let you know how I make out. I also rearranged my apartment a bit the other night, so once the blinds are up, I will post some updated pictures of my home 🙂 Also, at the beach today they had a sand sculpture competition which was super cool. AND, the waves were pretty big today! A coupld guys I know went surfing yesterday at one of the beaches. Apparently it’s like 25,000 won (which works out to be less than 25 bucks CDN) to rent a surf board and wet suit for like an afternoon. I am pretty excited to try it!!!! I’m sure that experience will be worth an entire blog on it’s own. haha

There are still so many things I want to do around here! I still have yet to climb Jangsan mountain … but my time is coming I know it! There is a temple and a sports area and a waterfall on the mountain, so hopefully if the weather is nice next weekend I will get to climbing it ! Also, there is an aquarium by Haeundae beach which I am pretty intrigued by. Maria went and said she wasn’t that impressed – but they have a tank that you can scruba dive with sharks in …. ummm …. I think some other foreign teachers are going to do it …. I will definitely go watch but I’m not sure how I feel about taking part just yet. But then again, I ate and love pineapples here (which, for any one who knew me at home, you know I was not a fan of pineapples) so South Korea has apparently changed me … so perhaps my fear of sharks and fish will dwindle with the wind! hahaha We’ll see about that. lol

Hmmm … other than that … I am going to call it a night. I got to skype with my family and some of my extended family this morning so that was a nice treat!!!! I miss you all and love you 🙂 xoxoxo

 

3 Responses to “Machalee and Noreabong!”

  1. Alyssa Says:

    Those sand sculptures are amazing! Those crazy asians!
    I will be excited to hear about your 5km run and its for a great cause so that will be awesome.

    I think i need to try some of that wine you speak of..send me a bottle..haha

    Glad to hear everything is going well and look forward to seeing the pictures of your cozier home.

    love me
    xoxo

  2. Gary G Says:

    Hey Erin!

    So glad to hear you’re having a blast! The food actually sounds pretty good!

    How is the weather there?

    Also, cool to hear you’re running a marathon! that’s crazy … someday you can tell your kids you ran a marathon in South Korea!

    So S. Korea is in the finals of the World Baseball Classic eh? Is there a lot of excitement in the country about that??

  3. erinsacco Says:

    Alyss – I will DEFINITELY send you a bottle (or 2 or 3)… haha they are like $1 CDN … and shipping is pennies here. Expect a treat in the mail! haha (but I need your addy … thanks).

    Gar Bear! The weather here is warming up which I am happy about!! We’ve been getting quite a bit of rain the last couple weeks, but it’s not unbearable.

    Koreans LOVE LOVE LOVE baseball. Hockey to Canadians is baseball to Koreans. Today, rather than sitting in our lunch room, we sat in a classroom and watched the baseball game on the big screen! And all the kids kept saying “baseball baseball” to me today but I just kept thinking that wanted me to play with them … haha DUH. I’m such a foreigner sometimes! But, sadly Korea lost today, so there are some pretty disappointed Koreans! I cannot wait to see a game! Apparently it’s an unreal experience here!


Leave a Reply

