Chopsticks and kung fu kicks!

Leaving on a jet plane …

Free Internet at Starbucks = Heaven June 9, 2009

Filed under: South Korea — esacc @ 8:15 AM

I am currently sitting in the Starbucks next to my apartment building … enjoying the free, uninterrupted internet and sipping on a frozen beverage; and I can’t help but think of my RIM girlies and our many trips to Starbucks during the cold winter months 🙂

First of all … my school won the volleyball for our region, so we are the tournament champions! After the big game we went out for raw fish dinner and we each sipped from the championship trophy. It was quite the experience. After dinner it was off to a Noreabong for singing and dancing … followed by a solo trip to Baskin Robins to treat myself to a special treat like my father used to do after I played well, or won a big game. Not going to lie … thinking about the old basketball days and hitting up Tim Hortons for double doubles and honey cruellers with papa sacc made me a wee bit homesick … but I quickly recovered 🙂

Now that volleyball is over, I find myself with a lot more free time. My afternoon classes are finished for this term, but I have started teaching an afternoon class for the teachers a couple times a week, so that offers a new but exciting challenge. Their English is pretty advanced so it makes for some good learning opportunities at a higher level, which is a nice change of pace from teaching “Red”…. “R..R…R..Rrrrrrrr -ed” … hahaha My online course for this month also finished and I did really well in it, so that feels good. Today I started learning Korean with some of the teachers I hang out with at school … once I finish this blog I have to do my homework that they assigned to me – haha … clearly slacking on that 🙂

What’s in store for the next few months… I am hopefully going to be going to Jeju Island the last weekend of June … I am also dog sitting 2 dogs for my friend Paige next weekend and the last week of July. In July my friends and I are going to Mudfest … which, for any one who went to Glenview, it seems like MOGA … so it should be a bit insane but apparently a really cool experience. My school is still trying to work out our summer camp schedule, so my summer travel plans are tentative until I know exactly which weeks I have off, but right now it looks like a bunch of us may head to China for a few days in August … and I’d like to see some other parts of Asia during that time if possible. I am saving Thailand, Bali and Phillipines for the Winter break hopefully … thinking about and planning where to go and when is overwhelming as there are sooo many places I want to see while I’m over here. I am also planning on going to Japan for the long weekend we have in October. Lots of ideas, now it’s just a matter of booking dates and finding flights. Which tends to be a difficult task in this country as things are constantly changing at the last minute so it’s hard to stay committed to one plan.

My girlfriends and I are planning on going to visit a Korean orphanage this weekend, so that will certainly be something to write home about I’m sure. As well, my friend Caitlin has a friend from the States flying in tomorrow for 10 days, so we’ll be busy entertaining her … starting with a Korean baseball game on Thursday!

Well, Starbucks is about to close so I will make this one short and sweet.

I hope to hear from you all.

Miss and love you all. xoxoxo

 

Leave a Reply

